To search for your vehicle’s test date, enter the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) below. The VIN can be found on your vehicle’s registration document, title, or the vehicle itself.

Your vehicle’s test cycle is determined in accordance with state and federal requirements. You should receive an official notification notice (postcard, text, or email) within 45 days of your vehicle’s test due date. Please be sure DMV has your most current mailing address, and/or email address and mobile phone number. Be sure to check the address listed on your vehicle registration. By law, you must correct it if it is incorrect.

If you purchase a vehicle from an authorized Connecticut dealer, the vehicle must be emissions compliant at the time of the sale.

If you purchase a vehicle from a private individual and the vehicle was previously registered in Connecticut, you will not receive a notification notice. However, it is your responsibility to have your vehicle tested within 30 days of registering it in your name.

If you purchase a vehicle out of state, it must be emission compliant prior to you registering the vehicle. If you do not have the vehicle tested, if it does not pass, or it has not been granted a waiver within the testing cycle, DMV will not renew the vehicle’s registration.